A relatively unusual photo arrangement

I’m currently on holiday for a couple of weeks in Unst, Shetland, staying with my parents in my childhood home. My mum is also interested in family history and has a number of photos on the wall of old relatives, which are the subject of this post.

The photos are hung on the wall in the corridor that leads through the centre of the house. On the right hand side of the corridor are photos from my mum’s side of the family, and on the left hand side of the corridor are photos from my dad’s side of the family. The arrangement, especially of the ones from my mum’s side of the family where there are slightly more photos, is done in such a way to resemble a family tree layout. Hopefully the diagram below will make it clearer than any description could.

Family photos

Map of photos Family tree like arrangement of photos

I think this is a really neat idea, and wondered whether anyone else had arrangements like these?

2 thoughts on “A relatively unusual photo arrangement

  1. My wife is Indian, and many Indians have a set of family photos on a single wall, often with some incense below. Arrangements are often very similar, with the family structure preserved.

Morag would love to hear what you think. Leave a comment here.

