Adding place names on Ancestry

I have a fairly big tree now (see Complete Unst Tree – How’s it going?) and I’ve recently been having problems with the Ancrestry website when I add fact to someone with a area rather than a specific place name. For example when I add their occupation, I tend to just record it as “Unst, Shetland, Scotland” even though they lived in “Little Ham, Muness, Unst, Shetland, Scotland”, because I don’t really know the exact location of their work.

Ancestry Location entry field

Ancestry shows you all the locations which CONTAIN the letters you type into the location field

Recently Ancestry’s interface changed so that if you put in the first few letters of the place name you wanted to insert, say “Unst, S” instead of popping up a list with all the places you have previously used that BEGIN with those letters, it’s shows all the places you have previously used that CONTAIN those letters. For me this is a VERY long list, with the one I want at the bottom of the list! It also appears that this list is not scroll-able past the point it disappears off the bottom of your browser window. This was a pain.

Well totally by accident today, I discovered a way round this. If you put 2 spaces in front of the characters you type in, the list only seems to show you things that start with the letters you want, rather than all those which contain them. I’m not quite sure why, but I’ll take it!!

4 thoughts on “Adding place names on Ancestry

      • Yes, that is an excellent way to grab their attention. I have noticed that every since Ancestry switched to the new format they are somewhat careless about how they implement their changes. I think they expect subscribers to alert them to bugs like the one you found. Wouldn’t it be nice if we got a discount for doing the work their software developers should be doing!

      • Wouldn’t it just! Mind you, they still haven’t fixed the very first defect I reported to them, some 4 years ago, that it complains that the probate date is after death – we’ll of course it is!

Morag would love to hear what you think. Leave a comment here.

