A family tree and more

As a teenager, I used to dabble with working on my family tree, benefitting somewhat from research that had gone before me by others in the family, or indeed others on the island (Unst – Britain’s most northerly) who had researched many of the local families. My fascination of all things ancestry related was undoubtedly fuelled by slightly surreal experiences such as the time some unknown relatives turned up at my grand-mother’s house (Springpark, Baltasound) and announced they were our cousins. We got the family tree out – on long sheets of wall-paper in those days – and they filled in a section that previously had a scrawl saying “emigrated?”. Indeed, they had emigrated and here they were back for a visit.

Now slightly older, my interest was rekindled during a visit back home to Unst for a week with my sister. We’d been, at the request of our mum who wanted some more space in the loft, clearing out old boxes of stuff and chuckling at old school reports and the like; when the various, slightly crinkly, sheets of paper with the old, hand drawn tree came to light. I’d seen recent TV adverts for on-line family tree programs and decided to get our tree into a more manageable format.

When I dabbled with family trees in my teenage years, it was all about the vital statistics; births, marriages and death dates; but this time around I wanted to do something more interesting. Clearly a tree does start with a basis in those vital facts, and of course the invaluable census returns that help to tie so many people together, but there is so much more. Our ancestors turn up in so many other documents now, especially since so many of these old documents are being scanned in and made available on line, and one that I came across at an early stage which changed the direction I was taking with my family tree project was the Napier Commission. This had transcripts of interviews with crofters who were putting their cases to the commission for lower rents. The insights into the way of life of these people through their own words was fascinating. It also made me realise that it could be difficult to determine which of these people were relatives of mine and which were not. I determined to expand my project to include the whole island of Unst, that way documents such as these could be linked into the correct people whether they were my relations or not, as I would have a complete picture of the island population.

Now I could have seeded this project with a fully prepared tree made by someone else, but hints from some that there were errors in those trees led me down the path to making my own, following the links myself and making the judgement decisions one invariably has to, myself. Also, a large part of the enjoyment of this as a project, is doing it yourself, making the discoveries yourself, and of course in doing so you get to know the tree, something that would not happen by importing thousands of people into your tree in one fell swoop. Once complete, I will then compare my tree with other trees prepared in the past to see where we agree and where we disagree, the disagreements being the interesting areas to research further to find out the reasons for the discrepancy.

So, I am up and running, and have a tree with nearly 5000 people in it to date. Sometimes I feel I may have underestimated the scope of this project, but I enjoy the problem solving nature of following these links and pairing together the people within it. I have many plans once I get the base completed, and am slowly gathering a list of documents to apply, but I am trying to remain focused on the initial task at hand before getting distracted into other different areas.

2014 Update can be read here.

9 thoughts on “A family tree and more

  1. Researching my family tree & find I’m only 4 generations removed from Shetland folk. A very pleasant discovery. Williamson, Ramsay, Humphray and Hoseadaughter are a few of the names I’ve come across. If any of that overlaps with you I would appreciate any help you could give me.

    • Hi Tony,

      I just tried to e-mail you in reply to this, but your e-mail address is not valid. This is what my e-mail said:-

      Thanks for the contact, I have definitely found Williamson, Ramsay and Humphray in working on the complete Unst family tree. In order to help you further, I’ll need more details from you to be able to find the people in question in my tree. Look forward to hearing from you.

      Cheers
      Morag

    • Hi Tony – I hope you can see these replies as I have no other means of contacting you to help you out. Since your e-mail address is not valid though, I don’t know how Word Press will tell you someone has replied to your comment either though?

      • Hi Morag, sorry I never saw this nor did I get the replies from Word Press. My Email is tonybinks@ymail.com. Thanks for taking the time out to reply and apologies for the delay in getting back to you.

  2. Hi Morag, Very curious to hear if you have some folks in your tree that match some family I am struggling to pin down. A William Jamieson (father: William Jamieson, mother: Hannah Gardner), born on Unst, and moved to NZ, where he married Ane Hansen (from Denmark). I have a few documents relating to him, that I have from NZ, but all I know are the approx birth year (1843/44) and that he had a cousin, also in NZ: (Captain) Gilbert Anderson. He died in 1903 in NZ.

    • Hi Michael,

      I didn’t have any of the people you mention in my tree yet, but it’s still a work in progress, and I’m always up for a challenge so I decided to have a dig around.

      My starting point was the knowledge that William and Jamieson are both extremely common names in Unst whereas Hannah is not at all common. My knowledge of the surname Gardner (sometimes spelled Gardiner) was that it always seemed to hail from Fetlar (the neighbouring island to Unst) when I’d seen it so far, although the reason I’d seen it was the movement of people with that surname to Unst, so finding her either in Unst or Fetlar wasn’t going to be a surprise.

      I found a Hannah Gardner (b. 1809) lodging in Muness in 1851. Surely if she is the mother of the William Jamieson who was born around 1844, she’d be married and using the surname Jamieson by then? See 1851 Census ED 3, Page3.

      I found a Hannah Gardiner (b. 1811 – close enough given the rounding that happens in 1841 census returns) living in Uyasound in 1841. Relationships are not recorded in the 1841 census returns, but the same pattern is generally followed and in this case shows a likely two sons of Hannah Gardiner called William and Thomas Jamieson. This suggests that either Hannah was never married to the father of these two boys, or was married, then widowed, and has reverted to her maiden name again. See 1841 Census ED 3, Page 1.

      Whether this is truly your Hannah will remain to be seen, but I thought I’d let your know what I’d initially found, and I’ll report back with any further information I find.

      Cheers
      Morag

      • Hi Morag,

        Thanks for helping me with this! I’m currently looking into the family that William Jamieson (son of William and Hannah) married into- from Denmark, so I’m having all sorts of fun trying to learn Danish whilst deciphering what things are “correct” or not. I thought the “cousin” might be a clue (Anderson might be another useful name), but then again, it could have been a completely approximate application of the term…

        Anyway, looking forward to hearing more- will also let you know if i find out anything myself in the meantime!

        Cheers,

        Michael

Morag would love to hear what you think. Leave a comment here.

